Butler maintains Team Bath MCTA domination of boys’ under-18s title

27 August 2013

It was another highly successful year for Team Bath MCTA Tennis Academy players at the British Junior National Tennis Championships, held at Nottingham Tennis Centre, with two winners and a finalist.

Samm Butler became the new under-18 boys’ singles champion, while Youssef Hassan won the under-18 boys’ doubles title with partner Lewis Roskilly. Dan Little was runner-up in the under-16 boys’ singles.

Butler’s victory in the under-18 boys’ singles means the trophy will be returning to Bath for the fourth time in as many years following the successes of Scott Clayton, Toby Martin and Richard Gabb – all of whom are now playing professionally with the Team Bath MCTA senior squad.

Butler, seeded two, secured a straightforward final victory over Ryan Peniston ,the top seed for the event, 6-2 6-3.

The new boys’ under-18 champion, who has trained at Team Bath for six years and attends Ralph Allen School,  played at this year’s Junior Wimbledon. He did not drop a set all week at Nottingham and thoroughly deserved the title.

Youssef Hassan made it a boys’ under-18 double for Team Bath with victory in the doubles event partnering Lewis Roskilly.

Dan Little, who was under-14 singles champion two years ago, just missed out on the boys’ under-16 crown, going down to Enrique Vidal after losing a very close first set tie-breaker.

Chloe Moxham also performed well to reach the girls’ quarter finals at the under-18, with new recruit Grace Dixon making the semi-finals. Seb Butler, Freddie McGeehan and Will Bissett all reached the second round of the under-16 boys’ singles, with Eden Richardson reaching the second round of the girls’ under-14s.


Final Samm Butler beat Ryan Peniston 6-2 6-3
SF Samm Butler beat Andrew Watson 6-4 7-5.
QF Samm Butler beat Sam Price 6-3 6-2
R2 Samm Butler beat Liam Earnshaw 6-4 6-0.
R1 bye

Dan Little lost to Enrique Vidal 6-7(4) 1-6
Dan Little beat Jack McFarlane 6-1 6-2
Dan Little beat Alexis canter 6-4 6-2
Dan Little beat Vincent Gillespie 6-4 0-6 6-1

Freddie McGeehan lost to eventual winner Enrique Vidal 6-7 2-6.
Will Bissett lost to Piers Foley 2-6 6-3 2-6
Seb Butler lost 2-6 3-6 to Jay Clarke

Chloe lost to 62 26 63 Farah Abdel-Aziz
Chloe Moxham beat Molly Reid 6-4 6-3.
Chloe Moxham had an excellent win over Georgie Sanders 7-6 7-6

Youssef Hassan lost to Adam Stephenson 4-6 6-3 6-7.
Youssef beat Curtis Clarke 7-5 6-1
Cameron Hogg lost 3-6 2-6 to Chris Egan Morriss

Eden Richardson beat Darinka Tibaldi 6-3 6-1
Eden Richardson lost to Ema Lazic 6-4 3-6 1-6.

You can find out more about Team Bath on our website teambath.com

You can also follow Team Bath on Twitter at twitter.com/teambath or facebook.com/teambath

For further information please contact the Team Bath press office at Matchtight Ltd on 01225 383518.

Partners and Suppliers