Dozens of University of Bath-based swimmers in action at British Swimming Championships 2023 in Sheffield

03 April 2023

Nearly 50 swimmers who train at the University of Bath will be in action when the British Swimming Championships 2023 take place at the Ponds Forge International Sports Centre in Sheffield from 4-9 April.

Among the British Swimming Performance Centre Bath contingent looking to secure qualification for this summer’s World Aquatics Championships in Japan are Olympic Champions Tom Dean, James Guy and Freya Anderson, and Commonwealth Games gold-medallist Brodie Williams.

The University’s student swimming club, coached by Mark Skimming and Andrei Vorontsov, will also be well represented in Sheffield with the busiest swimmers – Jemima Hall, Lewis Maxwell and Niamh Ward – entered into six categories each during the week. Reigning World, European and Commonwealth champion Ben Proud is also representing the club in the weekend’s sprint events.

Performance swimming club Team Bath AS also have three swimmers competing as Mark Edmundson, Rue Fowler and Oliver Watts all test themselves on the national stage.

Who to watch and when

Guide: BSPC – British Swimming Performance Centre Bath; UOB – University of Bath Swimming Club; TBAS – Team Bath AS.

Tuesday 4th April

Women’s 50m breast: Emily Morgan Hughes, Jana Spinner (UOB).
Men’s 50m back: Mark Edmundson (TBAS); Aiden Symons-Brown, Oscar Barlow, Lewis Maxwell, Archie Evans (UOB); Cameron Brooker, Jono Adam (BSPC).
Women’s 200m free: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Maisie Gilford, Niamh Ward, Jemima Hall (UOB); Freya Anderson (BSPC).
Men’s 400m free: Ethan Rayment, Isaac Dodds (UOB); Kieran Bird, Luke Turley (BSPC).
Women’s 400m IM: Meghan Byrne (UOB).
Men’s 100m breast: David Miller, Shem Fair, Sam Williamson, Tom Beagley, Oliver Kettle (UOB).

Wednesday 5th April

Men’s 50m breast: Sam Williamson, Oliver Kettle, Shem Fair, Tobi Sijuade, Marcos Iakovidis (UOB).
Women’s 50m fly: Annabel Smith (UOB).
Women’s 50m fly: Rue Fowler (TBAS).
Men’s 200m fly: Hendrik Van Der Leest, Isaac Dodds, Josh Gammon (UOB).
Women’s 100m back: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Annabel Smith, Jemima Hall, Charlotte Prince-Rayner, Jasmine Iley, Niamh Ward (UOB).
Men’s 100m back: Mark Edmundson (TBAS); Miles Drabwell, Archie Evans, Oscar Barlow, Lewis Maxwell (UOB); Cameron Brooker, Jono Adam, Brodie Williams (BSPC).
Women’s 200m breast: Emily Morgan Hughes (UOB).
Women’s 800m free: Leah Crisp (BSPC).

Thursday 6th April

Women’s 50m free: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Jasmine Iley, Annabel Smith, Maisie Gilford, Niamh Ward, Jana Spinner, Jemima Hall (UOB).
Men’s 400m IM: Tom Deffains, Sam Williamson, David Miller, Isaac Dodds, Oscar Barlow (UOB).
Women’s 200m fly: Kat Price (UOB); Holly Hibbott (BSPC).
Men’s 100m free: Oliver Watts (TBAS); Henrique Mascarenhas, Marcos Iakovidis, Robert Darbyshire, Aiden Symons-Brown, Miles Drabwell, Lewis Maxwell (UOB); Kieran Bird, Cameron Brooker, Ed Mildred, Tom Dean (BSPC).

Friday 7th April

Women’s 200m back: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Jasmine Iley, Charlotte Prince-Rayner, Niamh Ward (UOB).
Men’s 100m fly: Lewis Maxwell, Josh Gammon (UOB); Ed Mildred, Jacob Peters, James Guy (BSPC).
Women’s 100m free: Maisie Gilford, Jana Spinner, Jemima Hall (UOB); Freya Anderson (BSPC).
Men’s 200m breast: Tom Deffains, Oliver Kettle, Sam Williamson, Tom Beagley, David Miller (UOB).

Saturday 8th April

Women’s 50m back: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Charlotte Prince-Rayner, Annabel Smith, Niamh Ward, Jemima Hall, Jasmine Iley (UOB).
Men’s 50m free: Oliver Watts (TBAS); Tom Taylor, Henrique Mascarenhas, Tobi Sijuade, Robert Darbyshire, Marcos Iakovidis, Aiden Symons-Brown, Ben Proud (UOB).
Women’s 400m free: Niamh Ward, Jemima Hall (UOB); Leah Crisp (BSPC).
Men’s 200m IM: Sam Williamson, David Miller, Lewis Maxwell, Miles Drabwell, Isaac Dodds (UOB); Tom Dean (BSPC).
Women’s 200m IM: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Maisie Gilford, Meghan Byrne (UOB).
Men’s 800m free: Tom Deffains (UOB); Luke Turley (BSPC).

Sunday 9th April

Men’s 50m fly: Mark Edmundson (TBAS); Tom Taylor, Tobi Sijuade, Lewis Maxwell, Josh Gammon, Ben Proud (UOB); Jacob Peters (BSPC).
Women’s 100m breast: Emily Morgan Hughes, Jana Spinner (UOB).
Men’s 200m back: Mark Edmundson (TBAS); Archie Evans, David Miller, Isaac Dodds, Miles Drabwell, Hendrik Van Der Leest, Oscar Barlow (UOB); Cameron Brooker, Brodie Williams (BSPC).
Women’s 100m fly: Rue Fowler (TBAS); Annabel Smith, Kat Price (UOB); Holly Hibbott (BSPC).
Men’s 200m free: Aryaan Din, Ethan Rayment, Lewis Maxwell (UOB); Ed Mildred, Luke Turley, Kieran Bird, James Guy, Tom Dean (BSPC).
Women’s 1,500m free: Leah Crisp (BSPC).

Want to swim in the same pool as Olympic and Commonwealth champions? The London 2012 Legacy Pool at the Team Bath Sports Training Village is open to the public – click here to see this month’s swimfit timetable.

Partners and Suppliers