Current scholars’ testimonials

  • “The University of Bath is so good for my course, has a great netball set-up and I love the sporty vibe. That’s why I chose to come here. It’s also flexible – when I was called up to play for England U21s for a tour to South Africa, I had an exam scheduled for the week after but I rearranged that exam and everything worked out fine.”

    –Imogen Allison (netball), King scholar
  • “Scholarship funding helps with equipment, food, general living costs and travel which can be really expensive – especially when you’re going to one meet a month. The facilities here are pretty much ideal. We have everything we need in the gym, it’s right by the pool, it’s a five minute walk from my accommodation, and so it’s as good as it can be.”

    –Tom Sinclair (swimming), Bill Whiteley scholar
  • “Being awarded a scholarship is a massive confidence boost. To have someone say that they believe in your ability is huge for your self-belief. There’s no better place than the University of Bath for letting you train at a high level, undertake the degree you want to do and offer you this level of support.”

    –Sarah Collin (modern pentathlon) – Thompson scholar
  • “I have to say a massive thank you to Team Bath, Pentathlon GB and the rest of my support team for helping me get to number one, I couldn’t have done it without them. I’m supported by a Santander Sports Scholarship and the Team Bath Elite Athlete Fund which has allowed me to compete in Qatar, Serbia and Switzerland this season, as well as domestically. That support makes a huge difference.”

    –Tom Edwards (fencing) – Santander scholar


The University of Bath was the first UK university to offer sports scholarships and today 61 student athletes who have displayed potential for success both academically and athletically are currently benefiting from our scholarships – including 23 new scholarships awarded during the 2016-17 academic year.

The scholarships are supported by alumni and friends of the University who are passionate about giving talented young people the opportunity to benefit from Bath’s world-leading sporting and academic environment.

Some of the country’s top athletes have benefited from our scholarships, including London 2012 Olympic silver medallists Michael Jamieson (swimming) and Samantha Murray (modern pentathlon).

To be eligible for a scholarship athletes must:

  • have been offered a place on a course at the University
  • demonstrate the potential to compete at elite level internationally and contribute to the University’s British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) points
  • be recommended by their own coach and/or the University’s coach in their sport

Athletes will continue to receive their scholarship throughout their University course subject to an annual academic and sporting review.

Scholarships available:

Trendell Sports Scholarships

The Trendell Sports Scholarships will be awarded annually on a competitive basis to sporting students who have elite performance potential in one of our priority sports, as well as able to contribute to BUCS points.

  • Up to £1,000 per annum for 3 years (conditions apply)
  • Applicants must compete in athletics, badminon, football, hockey, judo, netball, rugby, swimming or tennis.
Matrix Scholarship
  • £3,500 per annum
  • Athletes involved in any recognised sport can apply
Bill Whiteley Sports Scholarship

Mr William Whiteley, a graduate of the University of Bath, has agreed to donate a sum of money to the University in order to support one student each year throughout the duration of their degree programme. This student must be academically able and must possess outstanding sporting potential.

Students must be accepted on a full-time undergraduate degree of at least three years’ duration in the schools of Management, Faculty of Engineering and Design or the Department of Economics and must be able to make a positive impact on the University’s sports standing.

  • £5,000 for one new scholar per annum, for up to 5 years
  • Applicants from the UK or EU accepted on a full-time undergraduate degree in the schools of Management, Faculty of Engineering & Design or Department of Economics
Santander Sports Scholarships

The Santander Sports Scholarships are available for students who are studying at the University of Bath from the UK, or Iber-American or Iberian Peninsular countries who have the ability to become or have the current status as an elite international athlete.

  • Up to £1,000 (conditions apply)
  • Applicants must be from the UK, or Iber-American or Iberian Peninsula countries – any sport
King Scholarships
  • £4,000 per annum
  • Applicants must be undertaking a course in the School of Management or a sport-related course in the Department for Health
British Swimming National Training Centre Scholarships

In 2012 a new swimming-specific scholarship to support new National Centre for Swimming athletes who study at the University was created to help them progress their joint pursuit of academic and swimming excellence at Bath.

The Bath NCS Scholarship award is open to talented new Bath NCS Swimmers who are studying at the University and who are not in receipt of any direct funding through the World Class Programme Athlete Personal Award or a Team Bath High Performance Scholarship Programme Award.

  • Awards range from £1,000 to £3,000 per annum
  • For swimmers studying for a degree of vocational programme at the University who train with the British Swimming NTC Bath
Thompson Education Trust Scholarships
  • £1,250 per annum for two years
  • Applicants must be a British citizen and undertaking a course in the Faculty of Science or Department for Health
Goldsmith Scholarship
  • £1,250 for one year
  • The preferred sports for this scholarship are badminton or hockey, and applicants must have compete at junior international level or above and be a UK national. Priority will be given to students with a household income of 42,630 or below

 2016/17 scholars

Athlete name Sport Scholarship awarded
Thomas Sinclair Swimming Bill Whiteley
Imogen Allison Netball King
Laura Macro Rowing Matrix
Jack Edmondson Rugby Goldsmith
Cameron Chalmers Athletics Thompson
Sarah Collin Modern Pentathlon Thompson
Eloise Laity Hockey Thompson
Charlotte Mclennaghan Athletics Trendell
Lottie Holland Rugby Trendell
Levi Davis Rugby Trendell
Mari Davies Swimming Trendell
Jazmine Butcher Alpine Skiing Santander
Valdo Szucs Athletics Santander
Amelia Stuart Tennis Santander
Georgia Hannam Modern Pentathlon Santander
Bradley Sutton Modern Pentathlon Santander
Hugo Stiles Rugby Santander
Jack Davies Rugby Santander
Stephanie Clutterbuck Rowing Santander
Emma Stacey Clay Pigeon Shooting Santander
Lily Honor Football Santander

Past scholars

2015/16 scholars

See who our scholars were for the 2015/16 academic year [PDF]

2014/15 scholars

See who our scholars were for the 2014/15 academic year [PDF]

2013/14 scholars

See who our scholars were for the 2013/14 academic year [PDF]

Provide a scholarship

Information for businesses interested in funding a scholarship can be found on our business opportunities page.

  • Mia Ritchie
    Scholarship athletes

    Many athletes benefit from scholarships here at the University of Bath. See the current Scholarship athletes and their profiles.

    Read More
  • Talent Athlete Scholarship Scheme (TASS)

    TASS is a unique government backed partnership between talented young athletes, educational institutes and National Governing bodies of sport. The University of Bath supports 70 TASS athletes in more than 25 sports.

    Read More
  • Training and Development
    Training & development

    Whether you are an athlete, a student or someone interested in opportunities to work in the sport, health and fitness industry, we provide a high-quality and inspirational service.

    Read More
Partners & Suppliers